Get ready for the ‘biggest’ full moon of the year on Wednesday night

(ORDO NEWS) — The July full moon, nicknamed the Deer Moon, will sweep across Earth‘s sky on Wednesday, July 13th.

The moon will reach its peak at around 2:38 pm EDT (6:38 pm UTC) on Wednesday, but the Stag does not stop. here; the moon will be bright and full on Tuesday and Thursday evenings (July 12 and 14).

To watch the full moon rise live over Rome, Italy, click on the Virtual Telescope Project on Wednesday afternoon. The broadcast begins at 3:00 pm EDT (7:00 pm UTC).

Avid skywatchers may notice that the Moon looks even bigger and brighter than usual. That’s because for the third straight month, the full moon will rise as a supermoon or the full moon that occurs when the moon is around or at its closest point to Earth, also known as its perigee.

This month, the Moon reaches perigee at approximately 5:00 AM EDT (09:00 UTC) on July 13, just 10 hours before full moon rise.

Supermoons can appear larger and up to 16 percent brighter in the sky than a regular full moon, according to timeanddate.com.

The last two supermoons were the June Strawberry Moon and the full moon of May, the Flower Moon, which also included a total lunar eclipse.

According to the Farmers’ Almanac, next month the Sturgeon Moon, which peaks on August 11, will be the last supermoon of the year.

What are these fish flower names for the moon? Consider again the Maine Farmers’ Almanac, which began publishing Native American full moon names in the 1930s.

According to the Almanac, the Algonquin tribe of what is now the northeastern United States named the full moon in July the Deer Moon because the first antlers usually grow at that time of year. Since then, modern cultures have adopted the Algonquian name for the moon.

According to NASA, the July Full Moon is also known as the Thunder Moon due to the frequent thunderstorms that occur in early summer.

A full moon occurs about once a month when the sun, earth and moon line up on an invisible 180 degree line.

The Moon’s orbit is about 5 degrees different from the Earth’s, so it is usually slightly above or below the Earth’s shadow, allowing the sun’s rays to illuminate the side facing the Earth.

Online:

Contact us: [email protected]

Our Standards, Terms of Use: Standard Terms And Conditions.